[Eng]【First Part】『Hypnosis Mic』Komada Wataru x Kamio Shinichiro InterviewーーーEvil but Cute Yokohama • Division Appeal

A Rap Project of 12 male voice actors 『Hypnosis Mic -Division Rap Battle-』. “Ikebukuro”, “Yokohama”, “Shinjuku”, “Shibuya” are 4 divided Division that do rap battle. “Battle Season” where the win and lose is decided by fans vote currently being held. This time, an interview was held with the voice actors, Komada Wataru (as Iruma Jyuto) and Kamio Shinichiro (as Busujima Mason Riou) from Yokohama Division that currently battling Ikebukuro Division. In this first part, we will focus more on stories about the production and characters ♪

The popularity of『Hypnosis Mic』original rap music remain unaffected, the Battle Anthem by All Stars that was released April 2018 on YouTube, as of July, has reached over 3 million playback! The “Ikebukuro VS Yokohama” battle CD『Buster Bros!!! VS MAD TRIGGER CREW』that released 16th May was ranked 1st on iTunes’ album general chart.

On July 18th, Shibuya VS Sinjuku’s latest CD『Fling Posse VS Matenrou』was also released, and more excitement towards the live on 26th August was shown!
With 『Hypnosis Mic』hippish content, this time we will have a talk with Yokohama • Division “MAD TRIGGER CREW” member, Iruma Juto’s cast Komada Wataru and Busujima Mason Riou’s cast Kamio Shinichiro.

MAD TRIGGER CREW (Yokohama • Division)

【Middle】Aohitsugi Samatoki (CV: Asanuma Shintaro) ……The leader of MAD TRIGGER CREW. Yakuza in Yokohama neighborhood.
【Left】Iruma Jyuto (CV: Komada Wataru) ……Corrupt policeman who did all short of dirty works.
【Right】Busujima Mason Riou (CV: Kamio Shinichiro) ……Soldier. Cooking is his strong point but ordinary people sense can not understand it.

They are currently in the middle of battle with Ikebukuro Division “Buster Bros!!” by fan voting in “Battle Season” !

Profile
Komada Wataru
Born in 5th September, from Republic of Germany
Hobby • Special Skill English conversation, Camera
Major Appearance 『Idolmaster SideM』as Koron Chris

Profile
Kamio Shinichiro
Born in 13th January, from Hokkaido
Hobby • Special Skill Magic (pro), Impersonation, Boxing
Major Appearance 『Ensemble Stars!』as Kiryu Kuro


I’m Glad I Get A Character that Seems Unlikely to Rap ーー What You Were Aware of While Acting


ーーPlease tell us about your feeling when you decided to take part in 『Hypnosis Mic』

Kamio Shinichiro (following, Kamio) I looked up the characters’ data before audition, and I thought if I go for it, it will be Juto or Riou. Because I think they will be nice with low voice. Also when I got the song set piece for the audition, I sung it one octave lower because I thought that it may have an appeal. I was glad I decided to do it. Because I like『Hypnosis Mic』world view, I really am happy to have join the project.

Komada Wataru (following, Komada) For me I thought that character who can speak English would be nice, so I want to be Riou. Don’t you think his name is like a half blood? But when I rap I thought that any character would use English to some extent, so I thought it’s okay not to be fixated to Riou. Then when reading for the audition, Jyuto was more overwhelming and easy to understand than Riou, and his character also easy to put on act.

Kamio So there was something like that.

Komada Dice from “Shibuya Division” also catch my eyes, but I thought that getting a character that really unlikely to rap will be good. I wonder what will happen with a HipHop culture that born in underground world, when we speak of which side will Jyuto, a police officer who should be on the right side, will take. Thus, whichever fate will bring, the project has unique world view so it’s exciting to see how the development will be from now on.

ーー While acting as the character, are there any particular point you became aware of?

Komada As Jyuto normally has nihilistic side, he is a character with dual nature when he dis the other party in high-tension rap, I think I want to emphasize that point. When recording the first drama CD, first of all I do Jyuto normally, I spoke like usual bad character, then when rapping I put on drastic change. As I said, I consider greatly about how to clearly show the difference between Jyuto usual character and the character when he rap.

Kamio Riou is a soldier, older in age, and half-blood character. In everyday conversation he used simple Japanese to talk, so I feel conscious when I have to bring out half-blood feeling in the rap. I want to evoke that kind of nuance. I remember that the cooking special skill scene was not decided in detail at first, but in the audio drama the whole picture of the cooking was shown clearly like, “Ah, that one is not delicious, isn’t it!?”.

Komada It was worser than you imagine, right? (Laughs)

Kamio Riou is not really good in showing emotions, but he has his own cute side. He interfere Samatoki and Juto’s fight like a Holy Mother. I could say he is a bit like a little girl. Eh, who is a little girl (lol)

Komada That size for a little girl is….!

Kamio something about the feelings when offering foods he cooks for both of them (Samatoki and Jyuto) to eat, and about him cooking with pleasure, is something that I thought would be good to convey in my act.

ーー”MAD TRIGGER CREW” Leader, Aohitsugi Samatoki-sama, what kind of person he is?

Kamio Samatoki is an ex The Dirty Dawg (Note 1) member who is considered as legendary person, but for Riou he looks like a wild boar marching into the mountain. From there onwards it’s like a battle manga, He was indebted to Samatoki who fight together with him that time then repay him even if by fighting his whole life, that short of relationship I thought he developed in the first audio drama. They became friends after the first meal scene. Samatoki is of course one of MAD TRIGGER CREW. There is the youngest child Samatoki, then older brother (Jyuto) as mom and older brother (Riou) as little girl.

Komada I can’t fulfill my role as an older brother though (laughs). Jyuto and Samatoki’s relationship in the drama, there’s always a scene where they cut each other off, but the flow was grasped from the first time to the second time. Jyuto is usually cool when he orders his subordinate around, but with Samatoki he got emotional and snapped. When recording I got my mic on max level and shout at him.

Kamio Really you are like elementary chool student, both of you. I wonder if all of you are hungry ~

Komada That’s why you bring foods (laughs). Samatoki is the kind of good looking guy who kills and tear people off like a dope, but Asanuma (Shintarou) san was really considerate in his acting. Samatoki who hold into his past, won’t ever give even one milimeter up to Ichiro (from Ikebukuro), and even if he trusted Jyuto, there are some aspect that he should not touch as it’s taboo and he already witnessed that resticted aspect clearly.

In acting aspect, one would expect something like sudden change in thrill or acceleration in the midst of play, although I also got over on some part, I will not lose to Samatoki’s presence. Even when Samatoki is not on the scene, just by looking at Jyuto will make you believe that Yokohama will win or so because they all got scared.

Kamio Come to think of it, we haven’t figure out about Riou and Juto’s encounter yet, I’m curious.

Komada Seems like it. This time CD(『Buster Bros!!! VS MAD TRIGGER CREW』)why is it somehow about reliance and good term.


Yokohama in Matching Aloha?! MAD TRIGGER CREW Good Term in Private Life


ーーAsanuma-san • Komada-san • Kamio-san seems to be in good term off works, what kind of things you talk about when the three of you gathered?

Kamio Asanuma-san and I have a good relationship since long ago. In the middle of the night Asanuma-san will send me a message on LINE like, “I missed you, Kamio” or “when can we meet? Today?”, then I will reply with something like “on my way!”

Komada Lovey-dovey (lol)

Kamio I will give Komachan a call when went out drinking.

Komada Kamio-san is also a kind senpai and good to hang out with, Asanuma-san is Grand-Senpai from his career history, also our age is quite far apart so I’m glad to get a call for gathering.

Kamio We also talked about 『HypMic』. Also, we talked about things like listening to each others songs and complimenting it, or talk about what we want to do from now on. For now there’s such talk like the three of us should go to Yokohama for the sake of winning. I haven’t realized it, but I also buy this aloha shirt for that reason.

Komada Samatoki-sama said, be careful when you see this aloha shirt! (Lol)

ーーIn 15th May when Asanuma-san was participating in NicoNama broadcast, Kamio-san did engaged in the comment. Did you tell Asanuma-san beforehand?

Kamio Yes. I told him that I think Yokohama won’t lose, but for some drastic measure I will keep aim with my sniper rifle from behind. I’m glad Asanuma-san noticed my comment immadiately at the NicoNama.

Komada When I appeared as guest, Kamio-san also gave comment, “ah some low toned commet is flowing”~ is what I thought. It’s definitely Kamio-san.

Kamio Oi it’s not like that (lol). I also send one for lyrics match. But the staff didn’t seem to notice it.

Komada EH!? WHAT IS YOUR MC NAME??

Kamio Not telling (lol). I will tell you if it got picked.

ーーKomada-san was born in Kanagawa Prefecture, so do you have any attachment to “Yokohama”?

Komada I was born in Kanagawa but after three months I moved to Germany.

Kamio then your attachment to Yokohama is only for three months.

Komada I-it’s not like that (lol). I always lived in Shonan since I returned. Since I was 15. Yokohama has everything, I often went to hang out to Minato Mirai.

Kamio Yeah. And there is also Noge. Drinking since midday is the best, at Noge.

Komada Sorry, I don’t know anything about Noge (laughs). Minato Mirai has beautiful scenery, they also has seasonal festivals, it’s always lively.

Kamio Red Brick‘s Germany beers or maybe Belgian beer.

Komada It’s talk about alcohol again! (Lol). Ikebukuro, Shinjuku, and Shibuya, The Tokyo Metropolitan Assembly each have different enjoyable liveliness. As a sight-seeing area, it’s easy for the resident to spend time there, it’s originally a port city so there are lots of different people there, and the cultures are mixed so it is an interesting neighbourhood.

Kamio At the begining of the audition I didn’t know that Jyuto and Riou are characters from Yokohama, the concidence was interesting.


“Battle Season” is Currently Open! Ikebukuro, Come and Fight Again After 10 Years!?


ーーIn the work, is there any character you want to interact with?

Komada As I thought, it would be Dice! Jyuto and Dice and champagne……

Kamio Don’t say champagne (laughs). It’s Hifumi.

Komada I wonder if those four will be easy to have relationship. Basically, Jyuto can drag anyone to mix together, though.

Kamio In current audio drama (『Buster Bros!!! VS MAD TRIGGER CREW』), you got to interrogate Doppo.

Komada They have an interesting past! So I am the most excited. Also, when Jyuto and Dice sang, they has this amazing “prance” so if they meet each other in rap, it will be noisy but in good way.
Kamio On the other hand if you’re with Gentarou you might got dodged. He has this unique delay rythm.

Komada If with Gentarou, normal singing will suffice, right? In any sense, I want to battle with Shibuya’s members. Well, everyone want to do it, though.
Kamio Riou and Dice has relation in the drama track, but beside that I want to see him with Ramuda, Jakurai, and Gentarou. But they absolutey won’t eat Riou’s cooking (lol). Only Dice will eat it.
Komada He is a good guy (lol) !

ーー Ikebukuro VS Yokohama battle CD was released in May, and there was also an announcement around late June. Frankly speaking, at this rate are you likely to win against Buster Bros!!! ?

Komada • Kamio Of course winning! We will win!

Kamio Maybe if you asked Ikebukuro, I think they will also said the same.

Komada All groups already gave out their best after all.

Kamio When the first CD came out, it might seems like Yokohama was dominating, but at the moment 『Buster Bros!!! VS MAD TRIGGER CREW』released, we don’t know anymore. The taste is completely different. I think that Ikebukuro’s best strong point, in all around four division, is that they have “Age” and “Growth” point. Since the eldest son, Yamada Ichiro and his brothers are all minor, there is this exciting feelings to see the main character continuously growing from now on. Since the other unit members are completely grown up. Well, but we won’t lose this time. Seems like, come back after 10 years and let’s fight.

Komada Fighting again after 10 years sounds interesting. This time Yokohama is on the heel, and Ikebukuro is the lead role position. Because they are brothers there is this main character-like heat around. Even in the song, since they are brothers, they have this vigorously calling out and respond style, meanwhile we use basic relay style, so there is difference in how we fight.

Kamio If it’s us, we want Yokohama to win. But I think people who have listened might have various taste, so I if you can, you should support your favorite division as the woman of Chuuoku.


Interview follows to the second part!


(Note 1) Literally translated as “Corrupted Buddy”, a Rapper Team originally formed by Ichiro • Samatoki • Jakurai • Ramuda.


Special Photo Gallery


Komada Wataru

Kamio Shinichiro


RB Notes:

  • Reason to do: Kamiosan.
  • Either basic or inaccurate since Im dumb
  • Btw I skipped a lot of unrelated info (CD introductions) lol

Author:

Trying to survive my dumbness

Leave a comment